Hallow[Online]

Development Blog!

Eye Gouging Sounds…

leave a comment »

Today I realized that I needed SOUNDS! I couldn’t make DirectSound work the way I wanted. Not to mention the size of the DirectX SDK (which was greately unappreciated). In the end, I settled for a non-open source sound wrapper. irrKlang is what I settled for. It’s easy to use and free for non-commercial use. It’s pretty sad though. Not all of Hallow[Online] will be open source anymore but I’m able to back up irrKlang. They don’t care if you don’t buy their license until AFTER you’ve made money off your product. Not to mention that the licensing is pretty cheap.

I considered XNA for the development but I’m not fond of making users download the XNA framework on top of the .NET 3.0 framework that I’m forcing upon them. Also other options flickered across my computer screen, I just didn’t like them. irrKlang won, the end.

Also, I’d like to mention, Hallow [Online] WILL come with the irrKlang dependencies, so that people can compile the source from the fresh download.

Written by FuRom

September 30, 2008 at 11:56 pm

Leave a Reply

